

## Chapter - 20

## PARLIAMENTARY GOVERNMENT

## **NOTES:**

- Parliament is the most important symbol of Indian democracy. It is also a key feature of the constitution.
- The Parliament of India is the supreme legislative body of the Republic of India.
- It is a bicameral legislature composed of the President of India and the two houses: the Rajya Sabha and the Lok Sabha.
- The **Rajya** Sabha or Council of States is the upper house of the bicameral Parliament of India.
- The maximum members in the upper house i.e.Rajya Sabha is 250.
- It currently has a maximum membership of 245, of which 233 are elected by the legislatures of the states and union territories using single transferable votes through Open Ballot while the President can nominate 12 members for their contributions to art, literature, science, and social services. Members sit for staggered terms lasting six years, with elections every year but almost a third of the 233 designates up for election every two years, specifically in even-numbered years.
- The Lok Sabha, or House of the People, is the lower house of India's bicameral Parliament, with the upper house being the Rajya Sabha. Members of the Lok Sabha are elected by adult universal suffrage and a first-past-the-post system to represent their respective constituencies, and they hold their seats for five years or until the body is dissolved by the President on the advice of the council of ministers. The house meets in the Lok Sabha Chambers of the Sansad Bhayan, New Delhi.

- The Lok Sabha is composed of representatives of people chosen by direct election on the basis of Universal Adult Suffrage. Maximum strength of the House is 552 members - 530 members to represent the States, 20 members to represent the Union Territories, and 2 members to be nominated by the President from the Anglo-Indian Community.
- At present, the strength of the House is 545. The term of the Lok Sabha, unless dissolved, is five years from the date appointed for its first meeting. However, while a proclamation of emergency is in operation, this period may be extended by Parliament by law for a period not exceeding one year at a time and not extending in any case, beyond a period of six months after the proclamation has ceased to operate.
- The Prime Minister leads the executive branch of the Government of India. The
  Prime Minister appoints the Council of Ministers, distributes portfolios among
  them, acts as the link between the Council of Ministers and the President and is the
  chief spokesperson of India's foreign policy.
- The primary duty of the **President** is to preserve, protect and defend the constitution and the law of **India** as made part of his oath (Article 60 of Indian constitution). The **President** is the common head of all independent constitutional entities.

