

Chapter 17

India After Independence

NOTES:

- India became independent on 15th August, 1947.
- Jawaharlal Nehru became the first Prime Minister of Free India and Lord Mountbatten its First Governor General.
- After the departure of Lord Mountbatten, C.Rajgopalchari became the first and the only Indian Governor-General of India.
- On November 26, 1949, under the Chairmanship of Dr. B. R. Ambedkar, the Constitution of India was drafted.
- The Constitution came into force on 26th January, 1950.
- The attainment of India's independence was shrouded with many unwanted events. Communal riots broke out in many parts of the country and Mahatma Gandhi lost his life on January 30, 1948 to a Hindu fanatic for his effort to contain the riots.

Framing the Constitution of India

- The Constitution declares India to be a Union of States.
- The Constitution of the newly independent India provides a framework for DE EDUCATION parliamentary, secular and democratic republic.

Planning for India

- The attainment of freedom in India meant political emancipation.
- A Planning Committee was established in 1950 with the Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru as its Chairman to provide a better standard of living to the citizens.
- The Planning Committee launched its First Five- Year Plan in April 1951.

Reorganisation of the States

- Another important task that arose in the newly independent India was the demand for the reorganisation of States.
- In December 1953, the Government of India constituted the States Reorganisation Commission under Justice Sayyed Ali.
- The State Reorganisation Act was passed in August 1956, and came into force on November 1, 1956.
- In 1953, Andhra Pradesh came into being as the Telugu state.
- Bombay was partitioned in 1960 into the states of Maharashtra and Gujarat.
- Punjab was partitioned in 1966 into Punjab, Haryana and the Union territory of Chandigarh.

Reorganisation in Northeast India

- In 1963 the state of Nagaland was created.
- In 1972, Manipur, Meghalaya and Tripura became full-fledged states and two Union territories.
- Arunachal Pradesh and Mizoram were created out of Assam.
- In 1986, Arunachal Pradesh and Mizoram became full-fledged states.

How Manipur got its statehood?

- The Manipur Legislative Assembly was abolished on 15th October 1949, after Maharaja Bodh Chandra signed the Merger Agreement.
- A Chief Commissioner was appointed as the Head of the State by the Government of India and Manipur became a part C state.
- With the reorganisation of the Indian states in 1956, part C states ceased to exist and in their place Territorial Council were established.
- Manipur attained statehood with a Legislative Assembly of 60 members on 21st
 January 1972 after the Parliament of India passed the North Eastern Areas
 (Reorganisation) Act, 1971.

Relations with Other countries

• Indian foreign policy during Nehru's period may be described as one of non alignment with either of the two world power blocs.

- According to Nehru, non alignment means not entering into military alliances with any country and particularly with any country either of the western or of the Communist Bloc.
- Nehru along with the leaders of Yugoslavia, Egypt, Ghana and Indonesia formed the Non Aligned Movement and its first conference was held in Belgrade, 1961.
- In April 29, 1954, Jawaharlal Nehru and Chou En Lai of China signed a treaty designed to symbolise the friendship of the two liberated country within the "Five Principles of Peaceful Co-Existence" known as Panchsheel.

Panchsheel

The Panchsheel Agreement was based on the five principles of:

- Mutual respect for each other's territorial integrity and sovereignty;
- Mutual non-interference in each other's internal affairs;
- Mutual non-aggression;
- Equality and mutual benefit; and
- Peaceful Co-Existence.



EDUCATION (S)